Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Record details

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
Keep her secret Keep her safe On the 14th November 1940, Hitler's bombs rain down on Coventry. From the rubble of a bombed-out family home, a young girl is saved ... but at what cost? This is a stunning and memorable page-turner of love, loss and resilience for fans of Orphan Train and The Secret Wife As the Nazis' relentless bombs fall during the Blitz of Coventry, six-year-old Rose Sherbourne finds herself orphaned and under the guardianship of a Cornish farmer's daughter, Elenor Cardew. Elenor knows that the only way to protect spirited Rose is to leave the city and make a new life for themselves away from harm. But soon Elenor discovers that Hitler's firestorm is not the only thing she must fear when she learns a devastating secret about Rose... With Rose's life in imminent danger, Elenor turns to the only person she can trust to keep the deadly secret, heroic Canadian pilot, Jackson St John. And amidst the destruction of war, an unlikely romance blossoms as they find a way to protect the child they have both grown to love...and each other.
Source of Description Note:
Title detail screen (OverDrive, viewed November 20, 2018)
Subject: World War (1939-1945)
World War, 1939-1945 > Fiction.
Orphans > Fiction.
Historical fiction.
Genre: Romance fiction.
Electronic books.
Electronic books.

Syndetic Solutions - Author Notes for ISBN Number 9780008300944
The Secret Orphan
The Secret Orphan
by Peters, Glynis
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Author Notes

The Secret Orphan

Glynis Peters lives in the seaside town of Dovercourt-Harwich. In 2014 she was shortlisted for the Festival of Romance New Talent Award. When Glynis is not writing, she enjoys making greetings cards, Cross Stitch, fishing and looking after her gorgeous grandchildren. The Secret Orphan is her first WW2 historical novel.


Additional Resources